New Galloway Community Enterprises Ltd (NGCE) is a community benefit company regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority, FCA registration number 7143.

Community Benefit companies, or BenComs, are a modern form of Industrial and Provident Societies. They are community owned and community run and can trade solely for the benefit of the community. All profits must be re-invested in the community.

The NGCE constitution is known as the “Rules”. The constitution was updated at the AGM of March 5th, 2020. NGCE RULES 2020

The NGCE Management Committee (Board) is comprised of 9 members, elected by the Members of the Society at an AGM, or co-opted. Board Members must be Members of the Society. At least 50 per cent of the Board Members must live in the community, defined by the boundary of the Royal Burgh of New Galloway and Kells Parish Community Council.

The current membership of the Board (as established at the AGM on 5th March 2020) is:

  • Mike Brown, Chair [2023]
  • Sheila Dressler [2022]
  • Helen Keron, Treasurer [2023]
  • Jon Nimmo, Secretary [2021]
  • Simon Kennedy [2023]
  • Wendy Leach [2022]
  • Maybelle Thomson [2023]
  • Joan Walker [2021]
  • Margaret Watson, Vice Chair [2023]

All current Board members are elected. There are no co-opted members. The year date in square brackets is the year of the AGM at which the incumbent’s 3-year term terminates.

The NGCE Management Committee (Board) has established a number of protocols and policies guiding the conduct of Board members, staff and Members of the Society.


NGCE Financial_Protocol 200203

NGCE Conflict of Interest Protocol 191125

NGCE Expenses Protocol 191125

NGCE Public Interest Disclosure Policy (Whistle Blowing Policy) April 2018

NGCE Complaints Policy 200907

NGCE Safeguarding Cause for Concern Form 200907

NGCE Designated Safeguarding Officer Action Form 200907

NGCE Code of Conduct – Staff April 2018

NGCE Gift Donation Policy – March 2018

NGCE has an Audit, Finance & Risk Committee (AFR Committee)